Home / News & media website / Gaming / History Of The Quake Video Game Series


The Quake games have been at the forefront of first-person shooter and multiplayer games since the mid-1990s with multiple sequels, multiplayer versions and online free-to-play versions as well.

Quake started in the footsteps of its big brother, the Doom video game series which proved to set the foundation of what first-person shooter games are today as well as dual-screen LAN play. Quake, on the other hand, started off as a side project by the ID Software development team as they figured that this new project, although similar to Doom, they wanted a free reign on what the game could potentially become and each developer and designer would have complete freedom and creativity.

Activision, the licence and distribution company, approved the new Quake title and the first game was released in 1996.

Since then, these titles have been launched:

  • Quake - 1996
  • Quake Mission Pack - Source Of Armageddon - 1997
  • Quake Mission Pack 2 - Dissolution Of Eternity - 1997
  • Quake II - 1997
  • Quake II: The Reckoning - 1998
  • Quake II: Ground Zero - 1998
  • Quake III Arena - 1999
  • Quake III: Team Arena - 2000
  • Quake IV - 2005
  • Enemy Territory: Quake Wars - 2007
  • Quake Live - 2010
  • Quake Champions - 2017

Take a look at the video below by the YouTube channel: Noclip - Video Game Documentaries on The History Of Quake With Tim Willits...

Game Of The Year Goes To Fortnite
These Are Retro Pocket Games And You Can Choose Which You Want
There Is An Augmented Reality Game That Lets You Control People
YouTube Has Introduced A New Feature
Epic Games Suing A YouTuber For Selling Fortnite Cheats
Fortnite Is Not The Most Popular Game On YouTube
8 Places To Take Selfies In Marvel's Spider-Man
Game Developers Are Fed Up With Google, Steam and Apple
This Video Game Resembles A Deforming World